Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
no_green_thumb

Question on Nikko Blue

no_green_thumb
14 years ago

After reading this forum last year, I realized why my Nikko Blue did not bloom past the first year I planted it --- it blooms on old wood.

I am Zone 5.

I watched for the new buds which came in August as they should. Yeah!! I over-wintered it and made sure I had plenty of leaves mulching it over winter.

Now it is growing green foilage. The stems still have the buds on them - but they all look brown and dead. I am hoping this is normal?? and as the plant continues to grow, I will have blooms?

I am just so anxious for this to bloom again - and hope someone can tell me that everything is going to be okay. Thanks a lot.

Comments (7)

• roseberri, z6
    14 years ago

Hi no-greenthumb, I am rather new at hydrangeas too, have had them a few years, but this is my understanding, look at your old stems, and if the new growth is coming off these stems you may get flowering. If it is all coming from the roots, that's new growth and you'll get lovely leaves and no flowers.I wait awhile before I cut down the old stems in hopes of growth on them. You might read some of the older posts for more info. roseberri(growing Hydrangeas in zone 5 is not for the easily discouraged)

• no_green_thumb
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks, Roseberri. I am not seeing any new growth on the "dead" stems. I am still going to wait for a while. It may just get replaced by something which will give me more color. I have a few Endless Summer I purchased last year and they already look like there are a few buds. Yeah! I have mostly shade and the only place I have a lot of color is right around the patio at the back of the house where I get some sun. So I don't want to waste any space on just "green" plants!! This plant has had its chance!!!

• no_green_thumb
    Original Author
    14 years ago