Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
snsn_gw

Merritt's Supreme are white

snsn
12 years ago

Hello,

Newbie here in hydrangea gardening. I bought some hydrangeas (2 of the Merritt's Supreme and 3 of the Snowball) at the beginning of this year on clearance at Lowes. When first planted, the Merritt's Supreme had pink blooms. I am now noticing that the newer blooms on both Merritt's are white. Is this typical? Any advice is appreciated. Thank you!

Comments (3)

• luis_pr
    12 years ago

Immature blooms sometimes appear greenish or whiteish. They should change to their normal colors in a week or so.

• snsn
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Luis,

Thank you for responding. Here is a picture of my Merritt's Supreme after waiting 2 weeks. The blooms remained white. Any suggestions?

{{gwi:1000240}}

As a newbie, any help is appreciated. :)

• luis_pr
    12 years ago

Hello snsn. Your green blooms are immature blooms who will change color after a while (weeks). The other ones are blooms that suggest your roots are in transition from "only growing in the hydrangea's potting mix" to also growing in your garden soil.

When your shrub originally bloomed pink, that was caused by the soil potting mix having alkaline soil and-or little to no aluminum.

This year, the roots have expanded into your garden soil and are able to get some aluminum so they are no longer pink. The blooms are now transitioning into the more neutral-to-acidic environment of your soil.