Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jojo1212

Is my hydrangea dead?

jojo1212
9 years ago

I planted this little hydrangea 3 years ago. Last year it stayed quite small but I did have a few flowers. This year when it started growing i was so happy, thinking it was going to grow larger...and then this happened. Can anyone tell me what this is? I thought it might have been fungus of some kind, so I bought an organic fungicide and have been using that for a few weeks, it doesn't seem to be getting any better. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!! I'm still a newbie when it comes to gardening, i really enjoy it but i'm still learning. Thank you!!

Comments (6)

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    9 years ago

My hydrangeas haven't ever gotten fungus, but they have been frost damaged. Is that possible here? Also, they like regular moisture. The soil surface looks dry, but what is it like when you plunge your finger in deeply?

• hokierustywilliamsbu
    9 years ago

Looks like cold damage..l.eave it alone and wait for warmer weather.

• jojo1212
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks so much for the responses!! Had a nice soaking rain today on Long Island...so it is considerably moist. Could be cold/frost damage...Could it successfully recover this season?

• luis_pr
    9 years ago

It does look like winter damage after this really bad winter. Many hydrangeas are having all growth from the crown this year.

But I also noticed that the soil looks pretty dry so keep an eye on that; periods of dry-wet are not good for the leaves and can result in leaves that do not grow much because they grow a little then get insufficient water and partially dry out (and the cycle restarts). Try to maintain the soil as evenly moist as you can. Water deeply with about 1/2 to 1 gallon of water per watering any time that a finger inserted to a depth of 4" feels dry or almost dry.