Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mysterypoodle

Endless Summer -- Dumb Question

mysterypoodle
15 years ago

So, Annabelle and Limelight are all leafed out and looking perky and Endless Summer is just showing some green sprouts at the base. Is it safe to assume that the brown and lifeless-appearing canes of last year died during the winter (along with most of my previously-hardy roses and a few fickle perennials) and so can be cut back while we await their replacements, or might they yet be up to something?

Thank you!

Kristi, just north of the arctic circle, in Iowa

Comments (7)

• luvahydrangea
    15 years ago

I've been wondering the same thing and today, I just couldn't take looking at it anymore and I cut off all the dead branches. Its such a puny little plant, I hope it ends up being a lot bigger than it looks right now. This is my first ES, so don't neccessarily do what I did as I have no prior experience. :)

Maybe someone else will post a better response.

• amberroses
    15 years ago

I live in Florida so I have a totally different climate, but my Endless Summer took awhile to leaf out. It started putting out some green and then went into a sort of suspended animation for about a month. It now looks great. It is a slow starter.

• Lalala (zone 6b)
    15 years ago

I'm also inexperienced, but last year (my first spring with ES) I posted the same question. I waited another month or so (into June) before chopping them off. Some of the old dead-looking canes did eventually develop leaves, and some didn't; I'm pretty sure that none of those older canes developed flowers last year, though. This year they leafed out earlier, but I still have some dead-looking wood. I think in colder zones the old wood gets damaged by cold easily. I'm guessing that you might have cut off some foliage, but that in zone 5 most of your flowers will come from new growth.

Like I said, though, I'm by no means an expert on this.

• WendyB 5A/MA
    15 years ago