Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ditnc

Endless Summer and Penny Mac blooms?

ditnc
12 years ago

I bought an Endless Summer a few weeks ago. I have not transplanted it into the ground yet. But it doesn't appear to have any flower buds.

Will it bloom this year or is it the type to bloom in its second or third season? (Many of the ones at the nursery were blooming in their pots.)

I also have a Penny Mac, also still in its container. Will it bloom this year?

And if they will bloom this year, when should I expect them to flower?

Thanks! I am new to the experience of growing hydrangeas!

Comments (11)

• ditnc
    Original Author
    12 years ago

P.S. The ES is "The Original" in case it matters.

• luis_pr
    12 years ago

Did you see a Mini-Penny when you bought the Penny Mac? I just "ran into one" by accident! No blooms yet though, it was still in the broccoli phase.

• ditnc
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I am brand new to hydrangeas. I don't even know what the "broccoli phase" is...

• melaroma
    12 years ago

Broccoli phase is when the flowers start to form (they resemble broccoli). They both should flower fine just be patient. The ES is a rebloomer so it will bloom more than once. The penny is not a rebloomer but both of these bloom on the first year. Mine bloom in late June or in July but I am in zone 5.

Luis, i have been dying to get my hands on a mini but cannot seem to find any in my area. Did you purchase the one you ran into?

• hokierustywilliamsbu
    12 years ago

Lowes is loaded with them here.....

• monroehydrangea
    12 years ago

ditnc, welcome to the club. I am a hydrangea collector and I glad to hear that you just bought them. I just bought my Mini Penny from Home depot to add to my collection. If there are any futher quiestions feel free to ask me or other hydrangea lovers in this forum. Once again, welcome to the lovely world of hydragea:)

• October_Gardens
    12 years ago