Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
graciebear10

Need help with growing hydrangeas.

graciebear10
13 years ago

I have a hydrangea plant in a pot that I would like to transplant outside. I'm not sure what kind it is. This is my first attempt at growing hydrangeas. My problem now is that the plant's leaves are turning brown and drying out around the edges. Am I doing something wrong? Is this some type of disease? Can the plant be saved? Please help!

Comments (4)

• orchidacea
    13 years ago

do you have the name for the hydrangea? if not, did you get that from a florist, a grocery store around Mother;s Day? Or you get teh plant from box stores like homedepot, lowes? Leaves turning brown, drying out around the edges could be just the natural aging process - as long as you have a lot of green leaves left...if the green leaves have curly edge, that means the plant is thirsty...needs some water...most hydrangeas get from the florist, grocery stores look nice but they most likely not gonna give you more blooms for the yr..and worse yet, they may not be hardy enough for the Ohio winter if you plant it outside...it will be helpful if you have a nametag for the plant and see what you have..hydrangeas are really easy to grow and tolerate a lot of human mistakes...so no worry, just see what you have and go from there.

• hdgrdnr_lilann
    13 years ago