Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paganfairy

Question about Hydrangea blooming for first time

paganfairy
10 years ago

Hi! I got a piece of this hydrangea from my grandmothers plant that is at least 20 years old. I just dug a piece from the roots of hers. I planted it 3 years ago and this is the first year it has bloomed. Last year it was just really low to the ground and grew more out than up but it made the buds to bloom this year. It is starting to look much better and is sending up new branches that are growing up and look great. My question is about the blooms...so far they are just a few little tiny white flowers. Is this how they all start out and am I just being impatient waiting on the big beautiful balls of flowers I was expecting Lol or is something wrong? After doing a lot of research I am pretty sure they are a type of mophead and I remember hers looking like a mophead with colors ranging from blue/purple. I'm a newbie to hydrangeas and was so excited to see the first blooms and just had to ask some people that know their hydrangeas what to expect! Thanks!

Comments (7)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    10 years ago

Sorry, but that is NOT a hydrangea. I'm not sure if there is more than one plant in the picture but those flowers belong to the rose family and most likely to some sort of bramble - blackberry, raspberry, etc.

• paganfairy
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The flowers do look similar to some sort of bramble at the moment but I assure you it is a hydrangea. The plant I took the piece from has been at my grannys house for over 20 years and there is no way it has been mistakes for any sort of bramble Lol. The leaves are a perfect match to everything I look up and I have seen the thing bloom at her house for years and years :) ...its just the first blooms that are throwing me for a loop. Here is a pic of some unopened blooms.

• paganfairy
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Just another pic to show I promise it is a hydrangea ;)