Return to the Hydrangea Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
'PeeWee' Oakleaf hydragea

Posted by haley45 7b (My Page) on
Tue, May 12, 09 at 15:32

I was wondering if anyone has used 'PeeWee' in their foundation plantings? (Or if this would even work well in that capacity?)

I would love to see pictures! I bought this gorgeous plant at the Birmingham Botanical Gardens Spring Plant sale and am thinking about digging up one of the Jap. hollies in the corner of a bed on the right side of my front door that is shaped like 1/4 of a circle. Its southeast exposure so would get full morning sun until about 11am or so and then shade for the rest of the day. I was going to post a picture but can't figure out how to upload an image (sorry for my ignorance - I'm a newbie!).

Thanks for all your help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: 'PeeWee' Oakleaf hydragea

If it's a front/entrance foundation bed, winter appearance of PeeWee (or any other hydrangea for that matter, probably with paniculata in tree form being just one exception) will make you to regret your decision of planting it there.
Otherwise, from the horticultural point of view, this would be a completely suitable location.

o
RE: 'PeeWee' Oakleaf hydragea