Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
barbie26_gw

Do my hydregenas need acid for their soil

barbie26
16 years ago

I am a newbie here and to gardening so to speak. I can grow basic flowers. Sorry off topic. I heard from a few people that my hydregenas need acid in it's soil. I live in Garland,Tx & when I planted it-it looked great but now it's starting to wither. Is the reason due to too much sun? or not enough acid in the soil or both? Not sure what type I have. It just says assorted

Comments (3)

• luis_pr
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Yes and no, you can grow hydrangeas in our Dallas/Fort Worth alkaline soil. I live in Hurst, just west of D/FW Airport, and planted mine with organic compost mixed with the local soil. I also add ammendments once a year to keep the alkalinity from getting too high. By the way, "assorted" hydrangeas generally are macrophyllas.

Otherwise, hydrangea leaves develop iron chlorosis (the leaves turn yellow except for the leaf veins which remain green). Adding iron chelated liquid products or acidifying the soil with Hi-Yield Soil Sulphur, ammonium sulphate or aluminum sulphate (if you do not have azaleas) will also work. You can get these products at Calloway's, The Plant Shade, Redentas, Blooming Colors, Monday Landscape, HD Landscape, etc

Some acidity is also needed to change the color of pink/blue macrophyllas but that is a difficult thing to do and monitor. Whites, of course, will not change color. Most colored hydrangeas will be pink here due to our alkalinity. Purchased blue/purple, they will revert to a shade of pink in time.

The withering problem is an indication that (1) summer is approaching and our temperatures have reached into the mid to high 80s some days and (2) more water will be needed as June aproaches.