Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sandyl121261

Endless Summer 1st full year in the ground

sandyl
9 years ago

This is a picture of my endless summer taken today Sunday May 18th. I live in zone 7 I think, 20 miles south of Nashville TN if that helps. all the green you see is from this years new growth, Should I keep those long brown stems or should I cut them off? I know some people leave them to help support the new growth from the heavy weight of the blooms, No buds are coming from the old stems, but I did cut one of them and I think it is green or maybe not. but I don't know enough yet about this plant as to if it will bloom on the new growth or not. Any information would be greatly appreciated. I'm a newbie by the way and don't want to cut off my blooms this year if there is a chance for them.

Comments (14)

• sandyl
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Sorry I forgot the picture!

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    9 years ago

Yes it will bloom this year on the new growth. I'm farther north than you and my ES dies back to the snow line each year, so I cut off the dead twigs once it starts growing like yours. The new wood blooms and has since its second season. If you had the relatively deep cold that much of the country had this winter yours may have had the old wood killed, though I think that won't normally happen in your zone. If your old wood still looks green, you may get new buds it.

• luis_pr
    9 years ago

Most of my Macs look like your pics too,sandyl, so "join the club". It has been a common experience this year.

I am going to give my dry-looking stems until the end of the month to leaf out because I too found some had green. But if nothing happens by then, I will officially prune them. You can do the same.