Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mynewyard_gw

Hydrangea leaf edges turning black

mynewyard
16 years ago

I am NOT good at gardening. I planted a bunch of plants based on what my landscaper friend recommended, though she was not able to help me plant. Now I fear everything is dying, and I don't know what to do.

My hydrangea looks awful. I don't know the name, but I know it's not Endless Summer, she told me I wouldn't have luck with that one.

Anyway, the leaves are turning black/brown at the edges. Does it need more water, or am I giving it too much water? Did I plant it wrong somehow?

{{gwi:1003438}}

{{gwi:1003439}}

Thanks for your help, I do not want to have to replant everything with new plants!

Comments (3)

• luis_pr
    16 years ago

Hello, mynewyard. It looks like a fungal infection to me. Wet rainy weather or humid conditions favor or contrinute to the development of these problems in large leaf plants like hydrangeas. Oak leaf hydrangeas suffer from this problem because of over head watering at the nursery; many people ignore it as new leaves will not have this problem.

A more serious fungal infection is anthracnose. It appears as brown to black irregular blotches in the leaves. I included a link on Hydrangea Diseases below for more information. Daconil and Cleary 3336 fungicides are recommended in this case. Dispose of fallen leaves and plant debris in the trash. Minimize splashing water on leaves and humid conditions by increasing airflow around plants that are planted too close to each other.