Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
juliajoy_gw

Time to give up on my Forever and Ever?

JuliaJoy
9 years ago

Hi everyone! I'm new to gardening, and planted 10 hydrangeas in different areas of my yard about 2 months ago. The 7 plants on the east side of my house are growing wonderfully, but I have 3 Forever and Ever white hydrangeas in the front that have been sickly for a while. They have some new growth, and continue to make 1 or 2 blooms, but I'm wondering what I can do to help them. I'm thinking this is cercospora? Any other ideas, or what I could do to save them? Thanks so much!

Comments (9)

• JuliaJoy
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here is the saddest of the three!

• hc mcdole
    9 years ago

Cut the bad leaves off and dispose of them. That should force the plant to flush some new foliage out.

It looks like some sunburn on the first photo.

• JuliaJoy
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you! I clipped off all of the leaves with spots, here's hoping they grow soon! Is there anything I can do to prevent fungus going forward?

• October_Gardens
    9 years ago

Probably a spray fungicide.

Aside from that, F&E white won't get very big. It only grows about 6-12" per year in the best conditions and will die back to the ground in zone 6 winters. And the blooms will scorch and brown around the edges in sun. For these reasons, it works very well as a container plant in semi-shaded areas.

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    9 years ago

Julia, I think the point of the earlier answer was that your plant is suffering from sunburn, NOT from a fungus.

Therefore, you do not need to spray the plant. Just give it some protection from the sun--and maybe water it more often.

Kate

• JuliaJoy
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Oh, oops, I thought hcmcdole meant that the discoloration in the first picture was sunburn, but that whatever is going on in the second picture needed to be clipped off.