Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
xrotuck

Too many buds on ES??

xrotuck
12 years ago

I planted 5 Endless Summer last year and have a few questions about them. I'm pretty new to hydrangeas and was wondering if there is too many buds on my plants?? I've gone through the forum and it seems some people have a hard time getting ES to bloom? I guess I must be pretty lucky. It's kind of crazy not to want so many flowers but the plants don't seem as healthy as last year. The leaves aren't as dark and with some yellowing of the inside leaves by the stems. I fertilized with a 15-30-15 a few weeks ago, should I do it again?

~Jim

Comments (3)

• DDhydrangea
    12 years ago

I have ES hydrangeas and I think yours look pretty good. The buds and leaves are still young give them more time to grow and fill out. I wouldn't fertilize again and risk the chance of damaging the plants.

• luis_pr
    12 years ago

Hello, Jim. They definitely look normal from a bloomage standpopint! No need to worry about that.

My first thought when reading your message was iron chlorosis but your pictures clearly show that the veins are not dark green but light greenish.

Then I observed that the leaves in direct contact with the sun are a lighter shade of green than those leaves in the interior. It is hard to tell if that is caused by shade in the picture or not but, it made me think of sunscorch.

When the leaves in direct contact with the sun get too much sun, they turn a lighter green and eventually look all yellowish (including the leaf veins). Down here in Texas, I provide shade starting around 11am to 12pm to prevent that. But I once had a storm damage a tree that provided shade to the leaves and had to dream a contramption to give them shade.