Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msalcido_gw

OK - So I'm needing help again!

msalcido
13 years ago

I'm a newbie at growing hydrangeas so all your patience is greatly appreciated! : )

I have this great hydrangea (not sure what type purchased at grocery store). I planted it about 2 weeks ago and it had been doing great. Now it is wilting and looks sickly. The only thing I did different was on Friday I found some "rolly polly" bugs on it so I put some Dichotomous Earth around it, then the next day they started dropping. I was told this DE was safe for the plants. Here are a few before photos and the now photos.

Before -

Now -

As always any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Mike

Comments (13)

• Lalala (zone 6b)
    13 years ago

I'm no hydrangea expert either, but here's my guess, and others can confirm or correct me. Did you get it from the floral section of the grocery store (rather from the garden-center section?) I'm guessing this is not a garden hydrangea but a florist's hydrangea that's designed to provide beautiful blooms for a few weeks, but isn't really designed to be planted in the ground. Is that possible?

It is gorgeous, though!

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    13 years ago

Two weeks in the ground--it is probably still experiencing transplant shock.

Stick your finger about 4 inches into the soil around the plant. Is the soil wet or dry? If it is dry, more water is needed. Transplants, in particular, need to have lots of water. In about a month after being transplanted, it will hopefully look much better.

If the soil is wet, cut back on watering. You don't want to drown it.

As to DE, I don't know anything about it, but I do doubt that roly-poly bugs are causing the problem.

I would wonder if you should prune off the blooms--so the plant can concentrate on growing roots. Let's see what other posters have to say on that subject.

Kate

• bgtimber75
    13 years ago