Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mwiehn

Oakleaf hydrangea

marcindy
16 years ago

Hello, I am looking for an oakleaf hydrangea that will grow in a mostly dappled shaded area. I would like the shrub to be no bigger than 4-5 feet and about as wide. Also, I was hoping to get a variety that has a long blooming time, fragrant (if possible) and maybe even attractive to honeybees (I have a couple of hives in my yard). I noticed that some OH have full floretts (?), while others seem to have single blossoms opening at random. I think I'd prefer to have the full look. Please let me know if that ideal OH exists or if I am just day-dreaming.

TIA!

Marc

Comments (22)

• goswimmin
    16 years ago

Have you looked at Snowflake Oakleaf hydrangea?
    This is my first year for them and they are just fantastic.
    The double flowers give a nice full look.
    I think there is also a dwarf oakleaf called Pee Wee.
    Mary

• mycitygarden
    16 years ago

yes, I have the same shade/sun requirements & have been trying to get my hands on Pee Wee. It's supposed to be no larger than 4-5'.

• ditas
    16 years ago

Hi Goswimmin & all Hydrangea lovers - Good morning!

I just picked up the only OH, finally available, in our area and it is Alice OH - I've been contemplating on an OH since last year after I saw my son's in his NC garden ... the foliage color change was simply awesome! All the plant nurseries I go to including HD and Lowes all sold out by the time I got home in Oct. This time I visited NC in Jun - got to see his OH in full bloom and more buds still opening!!!

The Alice OH tag claims zone-5 hardiness; size 4'Tx5'W; Exp. full to part sun. I just assumed that all OH pefer shade but likes AM sun. The site I have prepared since last fall allows for 4 hrs of late AM sun in the summer ... 'hope she does ok. Tag does not say anything about Winter protection ... would appreciate thoughts.

Thank you -
    Ditas

• ditas
    16 years ago

Hi again -