Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melissa520_gw

2 Problems - Bugs and Blooms

melissa520
13 years ago

Hi all. I have two current problems with my hydrangeas. This afternoon I discovered a bunch of earwigs hiding in some of the leaf folds. I am a newbie gardener - are these helpful or hurtful bugs? If hurtful - any recommendations for treatment? Second - I have a row of hydrangeas which is a mix of endless summers and another mophead type (3 of each). They were planted the fall of 2008 so this is their second summer. Last summer they were absolutely covered in blooms. This year, most only have three or 4 buds. Any ideas what is up? Thanks in advance for any and all advice!

Comments (2)

• luis_pr
    13 years ago

Earwigs are "good guys" predators that feed off aphids, mites and other insects. They eat during the night and hide in damaged leaf tissues during the day. Should they get out of control, you can apply some insecticidal soap.

Hard to tell about the bloomage problem though. On a new plant, I would not worry about blooms on years 1 and 2. They are going through transplant shock and take 1-2 years to get established in the garden. But the fact that the problem happened with several varieties indicates that it could have been weather related. For example, temperatures zig zagging during winter could have confused the plants and killed off the blooms. ES's blooms that normally open in early Spring would have been zapped but the plant should still rebloom later this month or next. It would be odd if it does not.