Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
echinaceamaniac

Limelight Hydrangea

echinaceamaniac
15 years ago

I got the best deal today. My favorite local nursery had a half price sale. I got a 3 gallon Limelight Hydrangea for 12 dollars! It's about 4 feet tall and has tons of buds to bloom. Could some of you tell me about these plants? I'd like to know how the blooms develop. I've never grown a hydrangea like this. It looks like a small tree! Do the blooms start out green and then change colors? Any info you could provide would be really appreciated. I'd also like to know if any of you propagated these. I want to give it a try!

Comments (15)

• rjlinva
    15 years ago

I'm NO hydrangea expert, but I have propagated the Limelight from cuttings place in a pot of soil with a jar over the top. I grow mine in full blazing sun and have the best luck that way. I had grown them in only morning sun with no blooms. I hope this helps.

Robert

• ostrich
    15 years ago

echinaceamanica, congrats! HALF PRICE SALE already!? I am so very envious! :-)

Now, please show us a pic of your new lovely!

I am in zone 5 and I have my Limelight in full sun. It does very well this way. I understand from the previous posts that in full sun, it develops more flowers but then in partial sun, the blooms' lime color lasts longer. Otherwise, the lime color blooms turn creamy white sooner.

It gets big too! Give it plenty of room :-)

• starina
    15 years ago

Hi, I have at least 6 of these, love them!! They do very well in partial shade as well as full sun. The color is so refreshing on a hot day. They are a tough adaptable plant. Congrats on the great deal.

• ostrich
    15 years ago

starina, I see that you are in zone 6 - I wonder how old your 6 (!!!) Limelights are and how big they are now? Do you prune them back hard every early spring?

• starina
    15 years ago