Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
georgia_transplant

Pruning of oakleaf hydrangeas

georgia_transplant
15 years ago

I have searched the forum for an answer to my questions (I am pretty new to gardening), and I could not find them. I also went to the hydrangeashydrangeas website and pruning recommendations are still a little fuzzy for me.

I planted a tiny (from a 4" pot) Pee Wee Oakleaf hydrangea in March and it is doing beautifully. I know if I am going to prune it I should prune in the next week or so (before August), but is it even necessary to prune such a young shrub?

I think the answer to my question is "no" because my plant is not too big for its space and there are no dead stems and the plant is so young.

Can anyone confirm this?

Also, to allow for blooming next year do I still need to cut somewhere below the dead blooms to remove them, or do I leave them as is?

Thanks so much. I've learned alot from this forum!

Comments (3)

• razorback33
    15 years ago

I would wait until the plant reaches mature or desired height before pruning any wood from it. Remove no more than one-third of the foliage each year.
    As you know, prune soon after the blooms have faded, to avoid sacrificing next year's blooms.
    Some gardeners, myself included, leave the old blooms on the plants, for winter interest. In the spring, you can usually snap off the old flower heads by hand. If you decap now, cut the flower stems just above the last leaf bud.

Should you have low branches that lay on the ground and want to create some additional plants, you can root those, by layering. Scrape a shallow trench, lay the branch in it, leaving several inches of the tip of the branch exposed, cover lightly with soil and pin it down or lay a brick or rock on it, so that undisturbed contact with the soil is maintained. Next year, remove the pin or weight and test, by gently tugging, to determine if roots have developed. Resistance to movement will so indicate.