Return to the Hydrangea Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
asb vs. es and penny mac

Posted by plant_maniac10000001 6 OH (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 16, 11 at 6:18

I'm new to hydrangeas and would like to hear from those of you who've had experience growing these cultivars. All are said to be remontant. However, according to the link provided below, it appears that ES and Penny Mac are the only ones that continue to bloom past July under normal circumstances. Has anyone who has grown ASB experienced any late blooms? I bought four of these from a nursery recently and would appreciate any input on this subject.

Here is a link that might be useful: Study of remontant capabilities of various hydrangea mac.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: asb vs. es and penny mac

It is an interesting study because it shows that others shrubs will sometimes bloom given the proper conditions *sun light, day temperatures, night temperatures, etc).

I do not have ASB but wanted to say that some people here have reported blooms in Nikko Blue during the fall (which the study detected). And contrary to what the study found out, my uncooperative Mme. Emile Mouill�re does not bloom at any time other than Spring. Picky, picky, picky shrub, hu? Hee hee hee!

If you want to find people growing ASB, do a Gardenweb Search in this Forum for "all summer beauty" and review the hits. Then send a Gardenweb email to the people as they may not be checking the forum all the time.

o
RE: asb vs. es and penny mac