Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pamelasv_gw

leaves

pamelasv
11 years ago

I bought a hydrangea and ut it in a pot with miracle grow. The leaves are turing brown and crips starting at the edges, then moving inward. Not all yet, but half. I put it with its old potted soil into a bigger container with miracle grow for plants. I have little experience with plants except roses. I will look thru the old posts to see if this question is out there. Thanks. : )

Comments (6)

• luis_pr
    11 years ago

Browning from the edges inwards suggests that it needs more water. If it is in a pot, I would extract it from the pot and dump it for 15-30 minutes into another pot that is full of water. Or you can drip some water slowly from a hose close to where the rootball. If half of the leaves are suffering, the rootball may have started to repel water; to compensate, I would dunking it in water for a while (I wait until air bubbles stop... 30 minutes or so) or I would put a drip hose on top of the rootball for a long time (30 mins to an hr). The damaged crispy leaves will not recover but you may get a few replacements when temps go down ... but not many since in Z5 the shrub may go into dormancy mode as soon as the temps go down.

Try maintaining the soil moisture as even as possible (no dry episodes followed by wet episodes, followed by dry episodes, etc). Also, maintain 3-4 inches of organic mulch. And do not over fertilize since the shrub is stressed but still needs some minerals. Give it about 1 gallon of water if a finger inserted into the soil to a depth of 4" feels dry or almost dry.

• pamelasv
    Original Author
    11 years ago

It was early and i didnt take a thorogh inventory of how many leaves were actually brown. More like one fourth, if quite that. small/narrow plant right now anyway. Can I overwater it in a pot?

• October_Gardens
    11 years ago