Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mainegard3

Endless Summer never started

mainegard3
11 years ago

I have two endless summers, forever and ever, and two oakleafs with no buds. They all look green and healthy. I know too much nitrogen is not the issue. The oakleafs were not touched and in a protected spot during the winter. The endless and forever were cut back several inches to the ground in late winter. We did have an 80 degree warm up in march that surprised everyone. Was it the warm up or since the big leaf were trimmed back so far, they will be late to bloom? Can I cut back each stem to the next leafs or cut some back completly to get new blooms? It is ever blooming, right? Thanks in advance.

Comments (8)

• whiteforest
    11 years ago

I'm not a hydrangea expert by any stretch, but it's my novice understanding that hydrangeas start to form next years flower buds in the fall, so cutting back in late winter you'd have cut off the buds.

• luis_pr
    11 years ago

If they were recently planted, the plants may be concentrating on building a root system in your garden. But as this early leaf out confuses them at times, especially when new, I am not surprised it is not blooming on schedule. I suspect the early leaf out killed the buds if both ES and the oakleafs have not bloomed by now. The ES plants is now trying to get some stems grown and may wait to bloom until the stems are more mature and until temperatures go down at the end of the Summer months.

I once had the same problem but in the Fall. Temperatures stayed in the 70s and 80s thru December one year and then they plumetted below frezzing for almost a week. Killed the buds but not the plants. Had a total of 2 blooms that year. Sigh!

Luis

• mainegard3
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Are the current stems useless if buds died? Would I get new buds if I cut these budless stems to next set of leaves?

• mainegard3
    Original Author
    11 years ago