Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
drich30099

What kind of pink hydrangeas do I buy?

drich30099
13 years ago

Hi, i'm new to hydrangeas and have a spot where I'm taking out some lilacs and putting in hydrangeas. I LOVE pink. I like the big ball type, I have 3 Maresi, i believe the lacecap flower-type, that have bloomed for the first time in seven yrs.!!

So, i would like them to bloom every summer faithfully, I understand some new varieties will do that.

I've been to Menards and they have them on clearance, a Cardinal Red, which looked pinnk to me, nice big flowers, and Pink Beauty, flowers looked a little small, and another one that had pink in the name but I forgot it. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Comments (3)

• sue36
    13 years ago

There is a new pink Annabelle, called Invincible Spirit. I am personally not a fan of the color, it is sort of a mauve-y muddy pink. But Annabelle are faithful bloomers in Zone 5.

• alisande
    13 years ago

Sadie Ray is noted for its hardiness and will bloom pink or blue, depending on the soil pH. Here's what Sandusky Valley nursery says about it: