Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thesilverpumpkin_gw

looking for a white mophead

thesilverpumpkin
13 years ago

hi everyone,

i'm very new to hydrangeas so i'm looking for help from you experts. i live in zone 9a (southern california) and want to plant 2 WHITE MOPHEADS near a fence for privacy. i want these characteristics:

1. blooms on new wood

2. can handle some sun - will get a little shade in pm

3. 5 feet tall

4. requires no staking

5. pure white (or as pure as it can be)

6. long growing season

i don't know if i am asking for too much.

i do like annabelle and emile mouiller but i've only been on hydrangeasplus.com so i'm not familiar with alot of other vendors and what they have.

thanks so much everybody!!!

faye

Comments (8)

• joannemb
    13 years ago

The more popular white mopheads are Emile Mouiller, Sister Theresa, Blushing Bride, and White Out. The first 2 bloom on old wood, however I have had Sister Theresa for 5 years, and cut it down about a foot above the ground every year and I still get blooms.... Unlike another old wood hydrangea that I did that ONE time to... never again, because it did not bloom the following year. So in my experience Sister Theresa also blooms on new wood.

The last 2 (Blushing Bride and White Out) do bloom on new wood, except Blushing Bride starts out white and blushes pink or blue. White out would be your best bet.... except it only gets 2'x2' :(

• joannemb
    13 years ago

The more I think about your post, I think Sister Theresa would be perfect:

1. blooms on new wood (In my experience it does)
    2. can handle some sun - will get a little shade in pm (My sister theresa was in full sun---afternoon sun even and did fine. She'd get a bit wilty at times, but would recover by evening. Morning sun would be absolutely perfect for her.
    3. 5 feet tall (Yep)
    4. requires no staking (Nope)
    5. pure white (or as pure as it can be) (see attached pic)