Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenwr_gw

Please tell me the basics of growing hydrangeas?

jenwr
14 years ago

I have recently gotten 2 hydranges, one is endless summer and the other is a peppermint one (cant remember name but it is also the reblooming type). I have one planted in the ground and it is doing ok and would like to plant the other in a pot. Please tell me how to winterize both the one in the ground and the one in the pot. This is my first year with hydrangeas and I want them to live and be healthy. THANKS!

Comments (2)

• luis_pr
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Sunlight - In the South, the leaves will sun scorch if exposed to too much sun so give them sun in the mornings and shade in the afternoons. In the northern states, they can be exposed to more sunlight. Near the border with Canada, you can probably get away with full sun. Always observe how others near your home have planted their hydrangeas. The chosen location should allow the plant to grow as wide and tall as shown in the plant label. Allow for good air flow between plants by not crowding the hydrangea near other plants.

Moisture - they need a constant supply of moisture or as constant as one can practically do. To begin with, check them daily by inserting a finger into the soil to a depth of 4". If it feels almost dry or dry then water it. If it feels wet, try to determine why and take appropriate action if any is needed. Wet soil can cause fungal issues. Every time that you water, mark it in a wall calendar. After 1-2 weeks of doing this every day, review how often you had to water. Then set your sprinkler or drip irrigation to water 1g of water on the same frequency (every 2/3/4/5/etc days). Do this again when the temps change 10-15 and stay there. Apply 3-4" of mulch thru the drip line or a little beyond. Water the soil (not the leaves) early in the morning.