Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kachana_gw

What Hydrangea to grow in full sun

Kachana
9 years ago

Hi,

I'm a total newbie to gardening. I want to plant some hydrangea in my front yard, however, it has western exposure, and with TX heat, I'm not sure which one(s) to grow. Anyone in the DFW area successfully grow any in similar situation? My front yard has direct sun from 12 to 8.

Thanks in advance,

Kachana

Comments (7)

• luis_pr
    9 years ago

I tried one Mac in 2 hrs of sun on the west side of the house below a small tree that shaded it most of the day but, it still suffered. It was the year when we almost hit a record of 100 degree days. I had to water it too much and the summer breezes here, although some times light, will dry things up in no time.

The north side and the east side of the house -or a tree- work for me most times. They benefit from shade by 12pm or earlier.

The sun after 12pm will scorch everything. Even my roses stop flowering and the stripped roses revert back to their parent's type of bloom color until things cool off. A Rose of Sharon would be a good choice though.

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    9 years ago

Try a paniculata hydrangea--they can take full sun here in Kansas, though my paniculata (Vanilla Strawberry) would appreciate a bit of shade in the later afternoon--but doesn't get any, so it will get some brown edges if the temps stay 100 or higher for weeks at a time (which they often do here in late July and August). What that means is that I have to give it extra watering at that time---despite some sun damage, the paniculatas still remain good looking. With no sun damage, they are spectacular.

Just go to google and type in "paniculata hydrangea"--all sorts of choices will come up. The Limelight ones, plus the Vanilla Strawberry one I have (I also have a Pinky Winky), are all popular ones, but there are a number of other excellent choices also.