Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
two_munkeys

Cityline series

two_munkeys
13 years ago

I'm a hydrangea newbie who just bought a CityLine Paris and CityLine Venice on clearance. The tag says they're hardy in my zone 6, but I've read online they're really only marginal here. I do get a 2 year guarantee *whew.*

Anyone have a few years' experience with these things in northern zones? Will they need special attention for overwintering?

Also, when do I prune? I know they're compact and shouldn't require much pruning, but the ones I bought are a tad misshapen and will need tidying up. They're in full bloom right now - do I prune after blooming later this summer or do I wait until spring?

Thanks!

Comments (5)

• luis_pr
    13 years ago

Hello, two_munkeys. Paris and Venice bloom on old wood, meaning that they develop the flower buds on or after July. In the South (Texas for example), they start doing this in early to mid July. In areas further north, they will develop buds later.

It is difficult to know if NOW would be safe for you. The buds are basically invisible. The exact time is controlled by Mother Nature. There can be 4-6 weeks or more delay between my bud setting time and yours so, play it safe unless someone in Ontario chimes in: do not prune now. Instead, prune after they have bloomed in Spring 2011 or before the start of July 2011.

Here is a link that might be useful: Information About Cityline Paris

• dondeldux z6b South Shore Massachusetts
    13 years ago

Hi two munkeys, I have both Cityline Paris and Venice. They both went in last year and wintered over superbly with just a thick coating of mulch over the roots. We're in 6b but you might want to try some protection for winter if you can force yourself to do it. Actually, last year was a great winter for hydrangeas on the East Coast, more buds and flowers than I've ever seen before!