Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
soni123_gw

Fertilize or Not???

Soni123
9 years ago

Hi, I'm new to gardenweb and to gardening in general. I'm not great at it but I love it. Hoping to get some advice about my ES hydrangeas. I have three ES shrubs that are leafy and green but I don't see any buds. I've had two of them for a few years that have had blooms in the past - northeast facing that get morning sun and afternoon shade. I have another ES that is southwest facing and gets morning shade and afternoon sun. This one I planted in Spring 2013. I'm so sad at the thought of no blooms this year!! I haven't fertilized or pruned. Should I fertilize? I've been hesitant b/c from what I read it can impede blooming. I'm confused and looking for feedback. Thanks!

Comments (5)

• luis_pr
    9 years ago

Hydrangeas need only a little fertilizing every year but, nothing bad will happen if you happen to forget (I have in some years). However, do not add high nitrogen fertilizers expecting a spurt of growth as it happens with roses though.

For a recently planted shrub, a 1/2 cup to 1 cup of organic compost or cottonseed meal in Spring will be fine. You can also add a general purpose, slow release fertilizer like Osmocote with a NPK Ratio of 10-10-10 per label directions. Throughout the growing season, you can also add some coffee grounds, liquid seaweed or liquid fish but stop fertilizing by the end of June or thereabouts so the plant will go dormant as expected in the Fall. Too much nitrogen makes hydrangeas continue growing and produce nice and dark green lush leaves but no or few flowers. And some of these nice leaves and new stems may die off when cold weather hits and the plant wants to continue growing.