Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
iyrytish

Sudden wilting

iyrytish
14 years ago

Hello all, I purchased my first three hydrangeas in April and they were from the florist so already in bloom. They did fine and had a little sun scorch as the summer progressed so I moved them from a SW facing bed to a NW facing bed and they were fine. Within the last week I noticed first one, and now over a half, of the leaves, of all three plants mind you, have suddenly turned dark brown in the center with light brown on the outer edges and have started curling up. The weather has been relatively cool and we haven't been getting too much rain so I have been adding extra water in the evenings with drip irrigation. These are the only plants in that bed, or any of my beds, to be so afflicted and I am at a lose for what to do. I thought maybe since they were florist plants, and forced into bloom so early, they are going into hibernation for the fall. Since this is my first year gardening I am taking a wild shot in the dark with that idea. Any ideas what could so suddenly be wrong with my hydrangeas? It is the weirdest thing! Just within a single week they drop dead. HELP!

I tried to upload some pictures, but I am happy I can turn the computer on, and I couldn't get it to work.

Comments (3)

• orchidacea
    14 years ago