Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kathielo

Size of Forever and Evers

kathielo
13 years ago

I just bought two Forever and Ever hydrangeas at Lowes this week. I planted one in as a front of a border specimen and the other I have planned as a foundation plant in a perennial bed. I am considering getting two more to put together as a background. Does anyone have these that are more than 1-2 yrs. old? How long does it take for them to get to the 2-3 ft.mature heighth and width as listed on the tag.

The spot where I am planning currently has white bleeding hearts. I want to take those out and put the hydrangeas there. The BH gets about 2' high so my thinking is the FE will get higher and created a nicer background.

Is this true or should I put the FE away from the foundation more in the center of the bed?

Thanks. This is my first try with FE although I do have a ES that is doing well and has gotten quite large in 3 yrs. Hoping for the same with FE. Any thoughts?

Comments (6)

• madeyna
    13 years ago

I have a few that are a couple of years old. They reached three feet by the end of thier second year in a bigger pot and were purchased at Lowes as one gallon plants. The worse thing about buying them now without flowers on them is you don,t know what ff you really have until they bloom out. So far only one of the 7 ff I have bought at Lowes has turned out to be what the tag said it was.

• kentstar
    13 years ago

I have F & E Blue Heaven hydrangea. It's the second year here in my garden. I also bought it at Lowes. It grew to about 3 ft tall this year and maybe about the same in width. But, it blooms pink for me not blue! lol. It's my soil that's too alkaline for it to bloom blue, so I'll be working on that.
    Just realize that if you want a pink one, you may end up with it blooming blue or purple, depending on your soil. Likewise, if you want the blue one, it may bloom pink instead.