Return to the Hydrangea Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hydrangea not flowering after pruning to the ground

Posted by eric_o 6 (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 5, 09 at 10:48

Hello everyone,

I've got a mophead type hydrangea that was replanted in another location last year after some landscaping work. It was wilting terribly in the summer heat so this spring I cut it back almost to the ground. Since then it has grown back beautifully, but not a single bloom. One of my neighbors informed me it will likely never bloom again. Is this true or will it just not bloom until next year? Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hydrangea not flowering after pruning to the ground

I'm no hydrangea expert, but you almost certainly have one of the types that blooms on old wood, so when you pruned it you cut off this year's blossoms. Leave it alone this winter and you'll probably have flowers next year! The wilting was normal given the circumstances; hydrangeas tend to wilt easily in summer heat, especially when they're young or recently transplanted. It should be less prone to wilting once it's better established.

o

I'm no hydrangea expert, but you almost certainly have one of the types that blooms on old wood, so when you pruned it you cut off this year's blossoms. Leave it alone this winter and you'll probably have flowers next year! The wilting was normal given the circumstances; hydrangeas tend to wilt easily in summer heat, especially when they're young or recently transplanted. It should be less prone to wilting once it's better established.

o