Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carissa930_gw

Worried about my limelights Ijust planted...help

carissa930
9 years ago

I just planted some limelights that I want to grow as a hedge along my fence. I planted a total of 6. 3 are regular limelights and 3 are little limes I alternated them. I made my flower bed. Put down top soil 6 bags, 1 bag peat , 2 bags compost manure. Tilled it all in and then planted them. Spacing about 4 feet apart. There are a couple that are turning brown, dropping leaves that have yellowed. I've been watering everyday. My soil is pretty much clay, with very little topsoil. So that's why I put amendments down. I'm new to gardening in general and have no clue what I'm doing. Any advice??? Thanks!

Comments (12)

• carissa930
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Another pic

• carissa930
    Original Author
    9 years ago

One more

• emrogers
    9 years ago

I'm sorry I don't have an answer but it's already gorgeous! I can't wait to see what it looks like when it's all grown up! It's might be that they're in shock and will bounce back.

• whaas_5a
    9 years ago

Either its stressed from severe root disturbance, otherwise you're drowning it.

A plant never needs to be watered everyday. The first few weeks maybe every few days at most. Your amendments may have increased water holding capacity as well. You only water when the soil starts to feel less than damp.

• Ruth_MI
    9 years ago

If you want them to form a hedge, you might be happier with all of one kind or the other. Limelight will eventually get taller, and it might be challenging to keep them the same height even with heavy Limelight pruning.

Since Limelight does get taller, it seems like it would do a better job of blocking the view of the houses behind you if that's something you'd like to do.

• luis_pr
    9 years ago