Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jami_in_nys

"Little Quick Fire" & "Little Limelight" Hydrangeas

jami_in_nys
9 years ago

Hello Fellow Gardeners ~ I'm considering planting either "Little Quick Fire" or "Little Limelight" hydrangeas. Prior to making any final decision, I'd like to know your experience with either of these shrubs: Good or bad; pros/cons; hardiness; growth habit (shrubby/open/compact); how they look in bloom & out of bloom; foliage, etc. I live in a Zone 4 area, Mid-Hudson Valley of NYS. Thank you in advance for your help ~

Comments (10)

• sampson2001 (zone 6a - cleveland - clay
    9 years ago

I have no experience with the quick fire and little experience with little-limes. I just planted 8 little limes and they are very nice except the fact that they are stressed and have either lost some foliage or are weeping but that should clear up next year. The little limes should stay compact and tight in the right growing conditions (6+ hours of sun and moist soils) they should get about 4-5 feet tall and wide but I plan on pruning my back to stay about 3'x'3. I little limes look the best of the small tight shrubs. Limelights are the same just bigger and stemmy-er. Little Lambs look really nice too, very similar concept to little limes except the blooms are white. The limes blooms are the nicest I have seen in a compact, the lime green color is very cool but over exposure to sun will cause them to turn white and subsequently pink faster. These are very hardy shrubs and should grow fine in my zone 6a, not sure about your zone 4. Check Proven Winners website for more info.

• October_Gardens
    9 years ago

You can Google image search for various states of bloom. All hydrangea paniculata begin mostly white and fade to pinks and browns.