Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dirty_fingers_325

Hydrangea'The Swan'

dirty_fingers_325
18 years ago

Is anyone growing 'The Swan' in Zone 5. Wondering what it likes with regard to sun, soil, water, and how it grows such as fast or slow grower, strong or weak limbs, height, cold tolerance, etc. Love the big flowers and flower heads.

Thanks for sharing your experience.

Comments (13)

• PollyNY
    18 years ago

Hello, I have been growing The Swan for about 5 years in my personal garden, and for nursery sales. It has the growth rate of most paniculatas. A one gallon pot after two years is about 4-5 ft tall, mature height about 8 ft. Can be trained as a tree. I find the branches on The Swan tend to be a little floppy at first, but when the green growth for the year hardens off they are strong limbed, but you want to keep the new growth as upright as possible. It takes full sun to quite a bit of shade. I would recommend part shade if you have it. Average soil and water. Cold tolerance Z5 fine. The flowers are absolutely gorgeous, and I would highly recommend it. I grow a number of the paniculatas hybridized by Jelena DeBelder, including The Swan, Little Lamb, Pink Diamond, and Unique, and all are outstanding. Not by Jelena DeBelder, but a new intro is Quickfire, a paniculata that blooms in Z5 in early June, a bright pink. Anyway, I think you will be happy with The Swan. Polly

• dirty_fingers_325
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thank you Polly....I think I will give it a place in my garden. Will be on the lookout for the others as well. I have three oak leafs but they just won't bloom here...I know Z5 is pushing it for them but have been disappointed with them...so slow to leaf out too. I really like their woodland look...very handsome shrub. Guess I will get better results with the paniculatas.

Thanks again.

• PollyNY
    18 years ago