Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cal_00

General Hydrangea question. (Everlasting Revolution Hydrangea)

Cal_00
9 years ago

Hi, first I'd like to say that I've never planted a Hydrangea or seen one up close so I'm new to these types of plants.

Today while visiting the local garden center I bought a 4 Gal Everlasting Revolution Hydrangea that I just couldn't pass. I came here to ask a few questions before I make a mistake with this plant. Here are my questions.

1. Do Hydrangeas die down to the ground each year or will the hard wood remain like my rose bushes? I'm in a 5B zone.

2. Will amending the soil help or hurt this plant? I know must people on here don't like amending the soil on trees and are vocal against it.

3. There will be a Rose of Sharon about 6' away from this Hydrangea, will there be any conflict between them or any other plant that I should avoid?

Any general info is much appreciated. Thanks

Comments (19)

• luis_pr
    9 years ago

1. In cold zones, they will die to the ground (if not protected) and in Spring, new stems will develop to replace the dead stems. You will therefore not get blooms from the old wood but, if the shrub is a rebloomer like yours, it should bloom from new wood. This is usually around July-ish. Note: you can winter protect the shrub if you want to get blooms from old wood. Maintain 3-4" of organic mulch to protect the roots from heat, cold and lengthen the times between waterings (1 gallon per plant for new shrubs).

2. Depends on what you are amending for. If your soil is alkaline, you will have to amend the soil with some regularity in order to prevent the leaves from developing iron chlorosis. This is when the leaves turn light green or yellowish but the leaf veins remain dark green.