Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nicurn1

keeping hydrangeas alive

nicurn1
14 years ago

I live in zone 6. I have managed to "kill" more hydrangeas than I can count. I have one in full sun that has come back 2 yrs. in a row, but has not bloomed and is small. I have 3 in front of my house that get partial sun. I had 3 there last year that died. (maybe as a result of leaky gutters which are now fixed). Any advice on keeping them alive during the winter and encouraging them to bloom if I do keep them alive.

I do not cut them back at all in the winter. (that may be the only thing I know about hydrangeas)

Comments (5)

• kentstar
    14 years ago

What kind? Some bloom on old wood, new wood, and some bloom on old and new wood.
    I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination on hydrangeas! This year is my first experience with one. "Blue Heaven" hydrangea, but I know that BH blooms on old AND new wood. So, I also will not prune down for winter.
    I plan on mulching well with shredded oak leaves, maybe even put some chicken wire fencing around it (after gently tying stems together) and stuffing with oak leaves.
    Others probably have many other suggestions.
    Do you keep them evenly moist? Have you fertilized at all this year? Tested your soil at all? Maybe the one in full sun is getting way too much sun especially later on in the afternoon. It may not be staying moist enough then. Try for morning sun.

• kentstar
    14 years ago

Here's a good article with some good ideas for winter protecting.

Here is a link that might be useful: Winter Protecting Hydrangeas

• nicurn1
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I am pretty sure I have Annabells. The one in full sun is an endless summer, I believe. No, I have not fertilized. what should I use and how much? thanks for the advice.

• madeyna
    14 years ago

I wouldn,t add any fert. this late.

• luis_pr
    14 years ago