Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lilyfinch

Please help me rescue my hydrangeas!

This is my first year with hydrangeas , i have 2 new ones- limelight and annabelle. Limelight is in full sun, i just love it but it turned from ivory to brown rather quick, and now the leaves have almost all fallen off. Is this shock from being planted? I believe i got it in august.Ive been watering well, i thought. Advice?

Also annabelle is in a lovely shady with a little am sun, she is positivly sulking, flowers dried up, leaves crunchy. She wasnt planted in fabulous soil, its rather clayish. I did add soil from a better part of my garden when planted and today i topped the soil with leftover tree and shrub soil i had to give a little more nutrient. Can i cut it down to a foot to give it a chance to work on its roots? I really hope they come back next year! Ill do whatever it takes! Thank you fabulous garden friends!

Comments (4)

• Lilyfinch z9a Murrieta Ca
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Also - should i prune my peegee? I just planted that not tooolong ago. Its doing well, had some broken branches from the nursery but its very pretty!

• luis_pr
    14 years ago

Wow, lilyfinch! All the leaves on Limelight fell off? You mean it has no leaves now? That sounds like a moisture problem. Hydrangeas like consistently moist soil and maybe you got some episodes of moist and some of dry and the plant may have dried out. Too much water could also cause similar symptoms/problems. Can you confirm whether Limelight has some green leaves or not?