Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
saylove

Is there hope for my Hydrangeas

saylove
15 years ago

I planted 3 hydrangeas this summer in my backyard. It gets a good bit of sun. When I planted them I thought it was shady during the day but not so much. They have wilted, and the flowers that were on them all died. There is still some greenery on them, but I am not sure if all hope is lost. I was going to move them this October, in a few weeks to an area that is a little shadier in the afternoon, and sunny in the morning to early afternoon. I am new at gardening and have read as much as I can. Am I making the right decision to move them? Is there any hope left for them? They are Everlasting Summer Hydrandgeas. Thanks for your help!

Comments (2)

• luis_pr
    15 years ago

I would expect lots of wilting and quickly browning/fading blooms on many first year hydrangeas due to transplant shock and perhaps moisture issues. How do you define "a good bit of sun"? Can you give us the times of day when they got sun during the summer time? Are they getting a lot of afternoon sun?

• Donna
    15 years ago

I assume you mean your new hydrangeas are "Endless Summer". It sounds like they need to move to a new spot, although I have some that get a surprising amount of hot afternoon sun and they do well. The key is their root conditions. If the roots stay cool from mulch and have adequate moisture all the time, the plant may wilt in the heat of the afternoon, but bounces back by morning. This is not ideal, though, and I have trees growing to eventually give them afternoon shade. If you have a site with morning sun and shade from noon or so on, they'll be happier from the start.