Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nanaellen_gw

Hydrangea, Purple Passion

nanaellen
17 years ago

I just received an order of Purple Passion Hydrangea. I am new to this shrub. Can anyone give me an idea of how to plant and where? I ordered these in the spring, but just came today. There were no planting instructions, and the plants do not look to healthy. Should I fertilize? It's been chilly nights to 45 degrees, can I plants these outside, or what? Thanks for any help. Mary Ellen

Comments (12)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    17 years ago

"and the plants do not look to healthy" Sounds about par for the course for Michigan Bulb. Maybe even a bit above par, since their plants frequently arrive dead.

These appear to be regular ole Hydrangea macrophyllas. Need a good, rich soil and some protection from strong sun. In your climate, will require winter protection, provided they live that long. Mid September is probably not an ideal time for planting out tiny hydrangeas in your climate, so I'd baby them quite a bit. Perhaps even pot up for a season and then sink the pots into the soil over winter or grow on in a protected location. Keep evenly moist, no fertilizer now.

FWIW, the concensus with the gardening public and certainly with GW is NOT to order anything from Michigan Bulb. Their service is terrible and with no follow up, plants are small and sickly and often not true to name (they rename many plants and sell them as "exclusives"). Many more reputable and better mail order sources are available.

• amart45
    17 years ago

I just posted this under the subject: Hydranga Purple Passion, you may want to read it. I planted my Purple Passion last October in Zone 5, covered it with mulch over the winter and they are doing just fine!
    Please read what I posted,