Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kentstar_gw

When to protect hydrangea in NE Ohio?

kentstar
14 years ago

I have a new Forever and Ever Series "Blue Heaven" hydrangea that I just planted this early summer. This coming weeks lows will get to the lower 30's. Should I be protecting now? The plant still has all it's leaves on.

I am new to hydrangea's and don't really know what to expect.

I know that the plant blooms on old and new wood, but I'd like to keep the old's too. I have chicken wire fencing, oak leaves and pine needles to cover with.

When do others in the general area do their winter protecting? Should the plant have lost it's leaves before doing this? Or do I protect even with them on?

I have searched the forum about the subject and read about protecting. One poster said to protect 2 to 3 weeks before the first hard frost.

Any ideas? I'd hate to lose my blooms that will come next year.

Thanks all,

kentstar

Comments (9)

• luis_pr
    14 years ago

I would always put the chicken wire first, like in the second half of September maybe just to be ready. Then I would begin to store the leaves some time in September so they are good and ready. If the temps gently go down into the freezing mark, the buds should be acclimated and will be fine. If the temps stay warm and then suddendly dip then I would finish protecting the shrub for winter. There is no exact date when you should do these things, just historical temperature patters known to you & neighbors, the average date of first frost and of course, future weather forecasts.