Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dailey_gw

Ever Heard Of Hortense Hydrangea?

dailey
14 years ago

i saw the most beautiful dark pink hydrangeas at my local nursery! they are not on sale ($35) so i'm a bit leary of purchasing them as i cannot find any info of them on the web. i was told they are macrophylla.

does anyone have any knowledge of these particular type? or do any of you have some in your garden? i am in zone 5...thanks!

Comments (7)

• Lilyfinch z9a Murrieta Ca
    14 years ago

I am no expert at all, but i googled hortense hydrangea, and it seems hortense is another word for mophead! There was one source that said this group of hydr was named Hortense after "18th century botanist Prince de Nassau."
    I wonder if what you saw was just a regular nikko(or similar) on some kinda fetilizer? HTH! :)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    14 years ago

That is correct - 'hortense' refers to a type of hydrangea, not a specific cultivar. It is a more common term in Europe but it equates to all the mophead forms of bigleaf hydrangea, Hydrangea macrophylla var. macrophylla. Lacecap forms of bigleaf hydrangea are designated Hydrangea macrophylla var. normalis.

Is there no other label info on these plants? Can you inquire of the nursery buyer? I would hesitate to buy before determining if they are an older cultivar that blooms on old wood or a newer, more cold hardy introduction that blooms on both old and new wood........unless you are prepared to provide winter protection regardless. And FWIW, there are many pink flowered cultivars that hold their pink color very well regardless of soil conditions or fertilizer - 'Masja' and 'Glowing Embers' are just a couple of choices.

• luis_pr
    14 years ago

I saw some awesome blooms while in South Carolina from a lacecap for sale at a grocery store. Similar problem. All it said was "Hydrangea". Oh well. Hee hee he.

• ditas
    14 years ago