Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rj56

best oakleaf variety

rj56
14 years ago

Three questions: 1)Which variety of hydrangea quercifolia to include in my foundation planting. It will be at the back. I am afraid "Alice" "Snow Flake" and "Snow Queen" will ultimately be too large. Are the dwarf varieties as showy, and is one of them preferred? (Pee Wee or Sikes dwarf?)2)Is it too late to plant here in central Ohio (zone 5)should I wait until spring? 3) Can I trust to order from a nursery thru internet? (selection at local nurseries not that great).

Comments (11)

• luis_pr
    14 years ago

I can think of three: Pee Wee, Sykes Dwarf and Little Honey. PeeWee is smaller than Sykes Dwarf and may get to 4hx4t ft in 10 years where you live. But in the southern states (like Texas through GA/SC/FL), that shrub may exceed 4x4 because of the longer growing season. LH is advertised as 4x4 too but I have no personal experience with it (size wise). I would guess similar to the first two. The so-called dwarfs (gosh, think about it, calling a 4 feet tall plant a dwarf... weird!) should look similar to the "normal" oakleafs but "showy" is a matter of personal taste so I think you should be the judge in that matter always.

To check out nurseries on the Internet, go to Dave's Garden Watchdog (see link below) and enter the nursery name in the top right-hand corner box that says "search by company name".

I think you should purchase in the spring, not because of the weather mind you, but because the available stock of hydrangeas may be better in some nurseries then.

I was checking out some websites 1-2 weekends ago and many shrubs were marked as sold out. But try anyway; the varieties that you want may not be sold out and Fall is a great time to plant hydrangeas too.

Choose a location that drains well when planting. Oakleafs are notorious for developing root rot if their toes stay wet for long periods of time. I lost an Alice for that reason several years ago.