Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carolinamary_gw

Squirrels and hydrangeas

carolinamary
12 years ago

Hello Folks,

We are complete newbies to hydrangeas--haven't quite bought any yet. I've just started reading this forum to learn a little about hydrangeas and to help choose varieties.

My initial idea is to try some hydrangeas inside a fenced area where our deer and rabbits can't go. But squirrels and raccoons certainly can and do run all over the yard inside the fence. I noticed a mention of squirrels nibbling on someone's hydrangeas. Our yard is filled with squirrels. So I'm wondering now whether to continue with the hydrangea idea.

We've successfully grown camellias, azaleas, rhododendrons, hellebores, hostas, and a few shade-tolerant roses inside this fenced area. Would that have any predictive value for hydrangeas? Does a squirrel need to be desperate before they start in on hydrangeas, perhaps? Our squirrels are in heaven eating all our acorns and hickory nuts and they're far from starving.

Thanks for any info!

Mary

Comments (4)

• luis_pr
    12 years ago

Hello, Mary. Maybe you can start taking small steps; introduce one or two hydrangeas to see what happens. I too have squirrels in the neighborhood and they do not seem terribly interested in my hydrangeas, azaleas and camellias (at least, not so far). However, I do not have acorn producing trees where the hydrangeas are.

• carolinamary
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks so much for your reply, Louis.

I'm just remembering now a small apartment with hydrangeas across its front. There were plenty of squirrels there that never ever bothered the hydrangeas.