Return to the Hydrangea Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hydrangea HELP (newbie's winter/spring care)

Posted by juliasnotmyname MI (My Page) on
Sat, Nov 21, 09 at 11:28

please help! I am a hydrangea newbie. We just moved into our house last nov (08) and the front of my house is lined with them...i did not even know what they were. They turned out awfully this year and now that I realize what they are I need to know how to take care of them. I don't know how old they are and I certainly don't know what old wood is. My grandpa told me to cut them down to 6" and mulch them over the winter, but I feel like that would be a mistake(to cut them down). I can't find any advice that suggests he was right. I am plant illiterate! I don't even know what kind they are (not that I had any flowers this year to compare to)I really love these flowers (I planned a clients wedding around them and they are gorgeous ) and I really want to bring them back. any advice for winter/spring care would be most appreciated! THANK YOU!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hydrangea HELP (newbie's winter/spring care)

I wouldn't cut anything back without knowing exactly what type of Hydrangea you have. Being that you got no flowers last year makes me think you have a macrophylla. Mulching would probably be a good idea, especially if it is a macrophylla.

o
RE: Hydrangea HELP (newbie's winter/spring care)

• Posted by mxk3 z5b/6 MI (My Page) on
    Mon, Nov 23, 09 at 13:30

I agree with above poster - don't cut back until you know what you are dealing with.

A couple things can clue you in in you saw any flowers on the bush in the past: