Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimrac

Winterizing- 6 anyone ever try...................???

jimrac
14 years ago

Hello,

Its becoming difficultto winterize. We live inland CT., and I have done the burlap treatment with some success.

Now, we have some hydrangea that getting huge,, heighth and wide..wise..

Has anyone tried, and/or had luck with just using one of those large green, blue tarps you see in the box stores,, and just laying over the top of them??,, or maybe two tarps??

Any thoughts??

I have a cluster of 3 together, and jusy curious if it might work??

Thanks

Jim

Comments (10)

• alexis717_df
    14 years ago

I'm no expert, so I hope someone else will chime in; but FWIW.... I'm in zone 5b/6 in Eastern Washington and I have 5 paniculata hydrangeas that have been in the ground anywhere from 2-3 years. Other than mulching I don't do any type of winterizing. Sometimes their covered in snow and sometimes their not. The only damage they incur is an ocassional broken branch from a snow load.

By just laying the tarp on them you run the risk of too much temperature variation. Cold at night, possibly much higher temperatures under the tarp (like an oven) during the day. Burlap still allows for air movement in and around the plant, tarps won't. During the day, even if it's relatively cold, the sun will heat up the tarp and also heat up (significantly) the air under the tarp possibly "cooking" your plants.

I know there is someone out there who can explain this much better. Hayseedman?

Alexis

• jimrac
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks Alexis,

Yes, I thought of that. I am curious if anyone has actually tried it and what were the results.

Jim

• mxk3 z5b_MI
    14 years ago

If you want to use tarp, I would wrap it around the plant, but not on top, for reasons mentioned above.

I would place some wooden stakes around the plant, then attach the tarp to the stakes - this will block the wind.