Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melanievvv

Not blooming! New to hydrangeas!

melanievvv
11 years ago

Hi everyone!

I live in Perth West Australia - it is a mediteranean climate, cool winters and hot summers, mild rain (no frost snow etc). We have just moved into our new house and at the home open there were blooming hydrangeas against a south wall (darker side of the house down here) doing really well and flowering. When we moved in July (winter here obviously) the previous owner had pruned them back very severely to a foot or so high. It has recovered with lots of blood and bone, seaweed liquid fertilizers and lots of water - it doesn't get any direct sunlight here only shade. It hasn't bloomed though, despite lots of lush green foliage at least three foot high. Any ideas on how long to wait for blooms? Do I also have to cut it back next winter like the previous owner did? I am new to gardening so thanks to everyone for reading / responding to this in advance.

Cheers,

Melanie

Comments (2)

• luis_pr
    11 years ago

Hello from Texas Melanie. Well, pruning or too much fertilizing could have done it.

Hydrangea macrophylla, the one that I am guessing that you have, produces blooms shaped like mopheads or lacecaps. A lot of these Macs will develop flower buds only once, in July-August in my area. The flower buds are invisible at first and will open much later... in April-May here.

So, I think that the owner pruned the plants hard after flower buds had formed so now you are not getting any blooms. Provided that you do not prune again after flower buds formed, the problem should not reoccur next year.

Although old hydrangeas can benefit from some pruning every 7-10 years, pruning is generally not needed if the shrubs are growing in a location where they can reach their mature size. If I need to prune for some reason, I prune here after the plant has bloomed but before July.