Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
martha_mechva

New to Hydraneas

martha_mechva
14 years ago

I am new to hydraneas. I planted two of them in the spring that were indoor potted flowers during Easter and they have been doing great. Not too big in size when I got them but they have definitely grown well during the year. However, within the past week, the leaves have started to turn brownish black and are falling off. Is this normal for the winter? I was always under the impression that they keep leaves year around. We have had A LOT of rain (living in Virginia) in the past month and a half but I believe where the plants are get plenty of drainage. I'm not sure if that might be a contributing factor.

Any enlightenment would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (9)

• madeyna
    14 years ago

The lose thier leaves in the fall then leaf back up in late spring. In my area they look like dead twigs until may.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    14 years ago

Yes, hydrangeas are not evergreen :-) They will sometimes hold their foliage well into winter if temperatures are mild but they will eventually turn brown and fall off. Turning black is often an indication they have gone through a hard frost before the plants are fully dormant. Not to worry....it is perfectly normal.

• gardenweed_z6a
    14 years ago

The hydrangeas I moved here and there around the garden this year were fine as long as I kept them well watered. The hint is in the name: 'hydra'. They need plenty of water, especially if you transplant them. Mine lost their leaves normally once it turned cold in autumn but one that's more sheltered than the others had leaves that went from green to burgundy before dropping around the end of October. There's a 40' x 20' area of mature bushes on my southern boundary that drops all the leaves every fall but the mophead flowers stay on the stems right through the winter.

• luis_pr
    14 years ago