Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plantboy_grower

Watering at night

plantboy_grower
16 years ago

I am using 1" rockwool starts, then transplanting directly into hydroton clay pebbles. I am growing lettuce and basil, and so far half way through the first week, they seem to be doing very well. This is my first time growing with hydroponics.

The light cycle is 18/6. I irrigate for 15 minutes every 60 minutes, because of the clay pebbles. I'm sure the rockwool never dries out, but I guess I can't wait for that b/c of the root system in the clay pebbles, but it seems to be fine so far. I am also using one drop of H2O2 35% concentrate per gallon, about every three days, so that may help with the web rockwool, I don't know. Also the entire flood tray is covered with black/white poly, only holes are there for the plant cups of course. It is pretty dark down in the flood tray so I think this is a good setup.

HERE IS MY QUESTION: As the plants begin to get bigger, I am concerned that even though I am told plants don't need the nutrition to grow at night (6 hours when light is off), I am concerned they might go for so long in those clay pebbles without water that the roots would dry up before morning. Could anyone please offer me some advice or experience they've had? Is this a valid concern or not? And would the answer be different for lettuce/basil vs. tomatos (what I want to grow next)

In the morning (~8:00 AM) before the lights turn on the temperature is about 70 or 72 deg. with humidity of around 65%. In the evening before I go to bed,(~11:00 PM) the temp. is around 82 - 84, with humidity around 50 or 55%. The light and water turns off at 3:00 AM, resumes at 9:00 AM. I am using a four foot, 4 lamp, T5 HO flourescent fixture... two 6500K and two 3000K (even though lettuce and basil don't flower I do want to grow other crops that will). The light is probably about 6 inches above the plants to allow a fan to blow across the plants 24/7.