Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_21349932

Questions on passive hydro

User
9 years ago

Hello guys,

I currently own a big sansevieria and want to move one of the offsprings to a pot with no soil.
I plan on using a pot like the one below, and for soil I will use expanded clay: http://swisscasualliving.com/resources/sysanim.gif

Now, I'm a total noob on this, and despite reading a lot, I still have a few questions:

1. How often should I use fertilizer? Is it ok to use a regular 6/5/5 one intended for soil? Should I use the same dosage?

2. Will I have PH issues? My other plants which use perlite and peat in a 3/1 ration seem to not have any problems.

3. I read somewhere that in the begining, I should water from the top, is this true? And if yes, for how long should I do this?

Thank you kindly,
Andrew

This post was edited by noobie236 on Thu, Jan 22, 15 at 8:29

Comments (7)

• gardenbunnyface
    9 years ago

Hey,

Seems you have your stuff sorted.
    To answer your questions,
    1. as your using soil ferts, makes sure its dissolved, also make sure its a complete fert. micros and all. Start with 1/4 strenght soltuion and work up. Cant coment on how often to water/fert as I dont know the plant so to speak.
    2. Depends on what ph that fert comes out at dissolved, and what would be ideal for your plants. As its a peat you where using that will of acted like a buffer for the ph. Expanded clay dosent have any buffer. Also depending how much you washed your clay peebles, and if its not done well, if could rasie the pH alot, so what I do is Wash it the n soak it in a ph'd solution overnight to make sure the ph dosnt rise to much after the first water/feed.
    3. Waterfrom the top to get an established root system for that type of system. So the plant can draw from the bottom of the pot. Water from the top but getting that balance of dry enough to promote root growth/wet enough so the clay Peebles dont dry out.

Best o luck.

• User
    Original Author