Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
quilter62_gw

Aerogarden

quilter62
10 years ago

I have a used Aerogarden, I have lettuce, tomatoes, and cucumber. What is a good product to use
for the nutrients This is my first attempt at this. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Comments (5)

• PupillaCharites
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

If you want to really keep it simple so you get the hang of it with minimal effort, an effective, economical trial is a pack of Maxi Grow all-in-one powdered fertilizer, or the Maxi Bloom if the tomatoes are further along. When that's used up if you really get hooked you might consider a more adjustable 3 component southern vegetable mix or hydroponic special mix which comes in 25 pound bags and will make several thousands of gallons.

• quilter62
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Oh yes!!! I’m hooked, the lettuce I’ve been snacking on it, Red Romain started in 12-05-13. The
    Chocolate Cherry Tomato I need to cut the top off. Had one of the tomato that comes in a kit and
    its only 1/3 high from the other tomato, the cucumber is getting bigger and more leaves it seems
    like I’m watching it grow. So far I’m loving it. I’m open to any and all advice. Thank you so
    much for your time!

• PupillaCharites
    10 years ago

Good luck, the all-in-one I suggested to begin with will make about 180 gallons or so. If you get the big one right off the bat, you'll also need about 25 pounds of soluble calcium nitrate and perhaps around 10 pounds of epsom salts to complete the mix for the entire 25 pound hydroponic fertilizer bag. The epsom you can buy at Walmart for a few bucks. You need a way to keep your fertilizer dry, too. Starting small is probably a good idea since cherry tomatoes are less demanding on the nutrient solution and sort of a separate category easily compatible with greens than beefsteaks and the like.

• quilter62
    Original Author
    10 years ago