Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beth11_gw

What to look for in an EC meter?

beth11
15 years ago

Hi All,

I'm new to hydroponics and would like to purchase an EC meter. What features should I look for??

Thanks,

Beth

Comments (12)

• grizzman
    15 years ago

Whatever you do; don't shop for price.
    That being said, buy the truncheon EC meter. it's pretty much the gold standard.
    I've heard tell you can get them for around $40 on Ebay. I bought mine new for $100 about 5 years ago.
    Pros:
    No calibration
    runs on AA batteries
    waterproof
    provides EC, microsemens, and two ppm scales. (stick with EC readings)
    doubles as a stir stick.

• freemangreens
    15 years ago

Mega-dittos on the Bluelab Truncheon.

If you were to buy only one tool ever, make it a Truncheon. You can skimp on lots of things, but you MUST know what your EC is to grow things properly using hydroponics.

Here is a link that might be useful: Here's Bluelab's link

• beth11
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Hi All,

Thanks. Do you have any thoughts on Extech meters?

Thanks,
    Beth

• hydroponica
    15 years ago

I don't have any experience with the Extech, but I know for sure that the Bluelab is fantastic. You never need to calibrate it.

Tough as nails, works every time. Can't beat that.

Though if the rumors from Advanced Nutrients are to be believed you might not even need any meters before long.

• danielfp
    15 years ago

Well, EC meters belong to the past. EC measurements have a lot of problems and are often over exploited. What about using selective ion electrodes to measure your actual levels of K, N and P ? This can actually be done ! and it is not as expensive as you would think. I wrote an article on EC in hydroponics if you would like to check it out . http://allhydroponics.blogspot.com/2009/02/faq-electrical-conductivity-ec-in.html

Here is a link that might be useful: Everything about Hydroponics

• hydroponica
    15 years ago